How Whitemarsh Township voted

Going into the 2020 general election, Whitemarsh Township had 15,383 registered voters. The election in the township saw 13,241 ballots cast resulting in a turnout of 86.08%.

Whitemarsh Township voters came out big for Democratic Party candidates on the November 3rd election. Democratic Party candidates won the majority of votes in every race on the ballot in the township.

PresidentBiden (D)Trump (R)Jorgensen (L)
East 180645013
East 279155012
Middle 18294758
Middle 24242753
Middle 31,01948814
Middle 491446515
Middle 55033493
West 192845218
West 21,42248114
West 31,02636710

However, there are some interesting things to point out. Joe Biden improved on Hillary Clinton’s 2016 result by 600 votes. Donald Trump improved on his vote total from 2016 by 167.

Biden also generally outperformed other Democrats on the ballot while Trump underperformed against other Republicans.

CongressDean (D)Barnette (R)
East 1718554
East 2723619
Middle 1779510
Middle 2398294
Middle 3968538
Middle 4864510
Middle 5463383
West 1897497
West 21,346542
West 3978418

For example, incumbent Madeleine Dean (D) was up for re-election in the US House of Representatives. She faced first-time candidate Kathy Barnette (R). Dean garnered 728 fewer votes than Biden. Barnette outperformed Trump by 513 votes.

OfficeD CandidateBidenR CandidateTrump
Attorney General8,4108,8624,3234,352
Auditor General7,5918,8624,8114,352
State Rep8,4938,8624,3994,352
State Senate9,8738,862no candidate

If you look at all the other races, the pattern of overperforming and underperforming holds up in four of the five races on the Democratic side and three of four on the Republican side. Note that while the Republicans had a candidate on the ballot for the state representative seat, its’ candidate did not actively campaign. The fifth race was uncontested as incumbent State Senator Vincent Hughes did not have a Republican challenger.

Note that any comparison to 2016 involves 2016 official results and 2020 unofficial results. All results from 2020 are unofficial and were taken from the Montgomery County election dashboard.

Let us know what you think in the comments.