24 counties to move from phase red to phase yellow on May 8th

Governor Tom Wolf announced today that 24 counties in the northwest and north-central regions of the state will be moved from phase red to phase red at 12:01 a.m. on Friday, May 8th. The 24 counties were deemed ready to move to the yellow phase because of low per-capita case counts, the ability to conduct contact tracing and testing, and appropriate population density to contain community spread.

“Over the past two months, Pennsylvanians in every corner of our commonwealth have acted collectively to stop the spread of COVID-19,” Gov. Wolf said. “We have seen our new case numbers stabilize statewide and while we still have areas where outbreaks are occurring, we also have many areas that have few or no new cases.”

The 24 counties allow to move to the yellow phase are: Bradford, Cameron, Centre, Clarion, Clearfield, Clinton, Crawford, Elk, Erie, Forest, Jefferson, Lawrence, Lycoming, McKean, Mercer, Montour, Northumberland, Potter, Snyder, Sullivan, Tioga, Union, Venango, and Warren.

You can read the full opening statement here. You can read the full reopening plan here.

Map: Commonwealth of PA